NOM Praises Bi-Partisan Coalition In US House For Passing Foxx Amendment Upholding DOMA In The Military


WASHINGTON - By a large and bipartisan majority of 248 to 175, the House of Representatives voted late Thursday night to approve the Foxx Amendment, which affirms that DOMA, the Defense of Marriage Act, remains the law of the land for all federal agencies, including the military.

The amendment, which prohibits the use of Pentagon funds in contravention to DOMA, was spurred by a memo since rescinded from the Navy to require military chapels on federal property to host same-sex wedding ceremonies in certain states. The Navy has stated the matter requires further review.

“By a large and unexpectedly bi-partisan margin, the House has confirmed that DOMA is not a dead letter, it is the law of the land,” said Brian Brown, president of the National Organization for Marriage (NOM). “This is good news for marriage, good news for the Supreme Court, and good news for those politicians who braved political correctness to vote once again for DOMA. We thank Rep. Virginia Foxx and all who voted for DOMA, and pledge to stand by them in 2012. Now we know by this vote, who are the friends of marriage and who are not. Politicians who ignore the wishes of their constituents and vote for gay marriage to please millionaire donors are going to find themselves in trouble come election time.”

Six Republicans voted against the amendment: Reps. Judy Biggert (R-Ill.), Mary Bono Mack (R-Calif.), Mario Diaz-Balart, Richard Hanna (R-N.Y.), Nan Hayworth (R-N.Y.) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.).

Additionally, 19 Democrats voted in favor of the amendment: Reps. Jason Altmire (D-Pa.), John Barrow (D-Ga.), Sanford Bishop (D-Ga.), Dan Boren (D-Okla.), Ben Chandler (D-Ky.), Jerry Costello (D-Ill.), Mark Critz (D-Pa.), Henry Cuellar (D-Texas), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Gene Green (D-Texas), Tim Holden (D-Pa.), Larry Kissell (D-N.C.), Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.), Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.), James Matheson (D-Utah), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Nich Rahall (D-W.V.), Mike Ross (D-Ark.) and Heath Shuler (D-N.C.).